Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
linda.carter

No preprocessors configured for policy 0

6 posts in this topic

I finally got the whole tutorial on winsnort w/mysql done and thought it was correct, as all of my tests passed, but now that I've started through the manual, and am trying out sniffer mode, I am getting traffic, but with an error.

WARNING:  No preprocessors configured for policy 0.

I went back through the snort.config file and I think it's correct.  Is this usual?

Thanks, linda

It looks like it's not reading the snort.conf file. I'm guessing you are using something: d:\winids\snort\bin\snort -v -i1

Try: d:\winids\snort\bin\snort -v -c d:\winids\snort\config\snort.config -i1

The above line may need to be tailored to you specific needs?

Note: Those WARNING: signs are usually only informational.

I am totally new to Snort and am trying to learn for school. I am having the same error with the preprocessors configured for policy 0 when I run it. I opened the config file with Notepad++ and went to the preprocessors section but can't find the policy 0 line to edit. Am I just missing something? I entered my ip address and put the links to the path. For var RULE_PATH I have it set to C:\snort\rules  I am using windows 7. I can attach my config file if you want to make sure that I have things setup right. Thanks for any help

Brian.

snort.conf

I followed the directions, and it starts as a service.  I have also tried the various switches like snort -v -i1.  That is where I see them.  On a good note, I got everything so that is looks like it is working, and I got Pulled Pork installed.  I'm just not sure now how to trap what I really want to see.  Working through the manual... 

I reread your earlier post, and tried this:

d:\winids\snort\bin>snort -v -c d:\winids\snort\etc\snort.conf -i1

and got a string of stuff, but a fatal error, quitting.  ERROR: Portscan log file 'log/\portscan.log' could not be opened:  No such file or directory.